As we wrote in a previous article, the 2020 edition of St. Kilda Film Festival has been held online due to the global Covid-19 pandemic. This edition just ended and the winners were announced.

St. Kilda is an Oscar Qualifying festival.


  • Best Short Film: The Egg by Jane Cho (Australia)
  • Craft Award: Rebooted by Michael Shanks (USA)
  • Best Director: Jane Cho (The Egg, Australia)
  • Best Documentary: I Want to Make a Film About Women by Karen Pearlman (Australia)
  • Best Animation: Rebooted by Michael Shanks (USA)
  • Best Achievement in Indigenous Filmmaking: Out of Range by John Harvey (Australia)
  • Best Actor: Ailís Logan in Wine Lake (by Platon Theodoris, UK)
  • Best Young Actor: Kim Thien Doan in The Egg (by Jane Cho, Australia)
  • Best Achievement in Cinematography: Aaron McLisky, Andrew Gough in The Sand that Ate the Sea (by Matthew Thorne, Australia)
  • Best Original Score: Piers Burbrook de Vere for The Egg (by Jane Cho, Australia)
  • Best Achievement in Screenplay: Lee Zachariah for Audio Guide (by Chris Elena, Australia)
  • Best Achievement in Sound Post Production: Ramsay De Marco, Charby Ibrahim for Bright Lights – The Perils of the Pokies (by Charby Ibrahim, Australia)
  • Best Achievement in Editing: Michael Shanks, Chris Hocking, Kevin Luk for Rebooted (by Michael Shanks, USA)
  • Best Youth Short Film: Under the Radar: Flip by Oliver Bailey, Oliver Crawford Smith
  • Best Regional Short Film: Dissatisfaction by Campbell Mattinson (Australia)
  • Your Place Film Victoria Award: Fish and Chips by Michael Jones
  • Your Place Director’s Choice Award: At Home in Bermuda (where?) by Rosaleen Cox
The Egg | MIFF 2020

Oscar Qualifying Award

Between the prizes awarded at the SKFF, the Oscar Qualifying is Best Short Film, this year given to The Egg by Jane Cho.