The 2020 edition of Animafest ZagrebWorld Festival of Animated Film, held from 28th September to 3rd October, has ended and winners have been announced. Animafest is Academy Award qualifying with the prize  Grand Prix – Best Short Film of the Festival.

Awarded by Grand Competition Short Film Jury

Grand Prix
Just a Guy by Shoko Hara (Germany)

Golden Zagreb Award for creativity and innovative artistic achievement
Freeze Frame by Soetkin Verstegen (Belgium, Germany)

Zlatko Grgić Award for best first film made outside of an education institution
Symbiosis by Nadja Andrasev (France, Hungary)

Special Mentions
How to disappear by Robin Klengel, Leonhard Müllner, Michael Stumpf (Austria)
My Exercise by Atsushi Wada (Japan)
The Physics of Sorrow by Theodore Ushev (Canada)
Pulsión by Pedro Casavecchia (Argentina, France)
Betty by Will Anderson (United Kingdom)

Awarded by joint jury of the Student and Croatian film competition

Dušan Vukotić Award for best student film
Naked by Kirill Khachaturov (Russia)

Special Mentions
Pearl Diver by Margrethe Danielsen (Norway)
Airhead! by Gaspar Chabaud (Belgium)
Survival HK by Louise Pau (Hong Kong, USA)

Other Awards

Best Film in Croatian Film Competition
Arka by Natko Stipaničev (Croatia)

Children’s Film Competition Winner
Daughter by Daria Kashcheeva (Czech Republic)

Children’s Film Competition Special Mention
Mare Monstrum by Àngel Estois, Lucia Hernandez, Mercè Sendino (Spain)

Mr. M Audience Award for best film in Grand Competition Short Film
The Physics of Sorrow by Theodore Ushev (Canada)