The 2021 edition of Tampere Film Festival, held from March 10th to 14th, has ended.

Tampere is Academy Award Qualifying with the awards International Competition – Best Documentary, International Competition Grand Prix, National Competition Main Prize less than 30 minutes. It is also one of the festivals in which a short film has to be screened to be considered for the European Film Awards. TFF is also BAFTA qualifying.

Winners have been announced. As always, we are only listing the short films.

International Competition

Grand Prix
Al-Sit by Suzannah Mirghani (Sudan, Qatar)

Best Animation
Normal (Normaali) by Julie Caty (France)

Best Documentary
Shadows Of Your Childhood (Lapsuuden Varjot) by Mikhail Gorobchuk (Russia)

Best Fiction
A Lucid Dream (Selkouni) by Li Yue (China)

Tampere Short Film Candidate For The European Film Awards 2021
Mission: Hebron (Tehtävä: Hebron) by Rona Segal (Israel)

Special Mentions
Experimental/Documentary: Wall Piano (Muuripiano) by Asma Ghanem, Christopher Marianetti, Alexia Webster (Palestine)
Animation: Wochenbett (Postpartum) by Henriette Rietz (Germany)
Fiction: Mizaru by Sudarshan Suresh (India)

Audience Award
Wall Piano (Muuripiano) by Asma Ghanem, Christopher Marianetti, Alexia Webster (Palestine)

National Competition

Main Prize
Where To Land by Sawandi Groskind (Finland)

Special Prize
Hiljaisuus (Silence) by Saara Hakkarainen (Finland) 

Prize of the Youth Jury
All Tender Things by Tatu Pohjanvirta (Finland)

Special Mention of the Youth Jury
Päätös N:O 30001 (Verdict 30001: The Cookies) by Samuel Häkkinen, Henna Välkky (Finland) 

Tampere Nominee For European Audience Award
Kansanradio – Runonlaulajien Maa (A People’s Radio – Ballads From A Wooded Country) by Virpi Suutari (Finland)

Audience’s Short Film Favourite For The European Audience Award 2021
Une soeur by Delphine Girard (Belgium)

Both Series

Risto Jarva Prize
Ellipsis by Marjo Levlin (Finland)

Golden Shade Equipment Rental Prize For Cinematographer
Where To Land by Sawandi Groskind (Finland)

Student Award
Halpoja Tahroja (Easy Panties) by Marlena Martikainen (Finland)