The winners of the 2021 edition of Ann Arbort Film Festival have been announced. It was established in 1963.

AAFF is held in Michigan, USA, and is Academy Awards Qualifying with the prizes Ken Burns Award for Best of the Festival, Chris Frayne Award for Best Animated Film, Lawrence Kasdan Award for Best Narrative Film.

Academy Qualifying Awards

Ken Burns for Best of the Festival
13 by Shinya Isobe (Japan)

Chris Frayne Award for Best Animated Film
KKUM by Kang Min Kim (South Korea)

Lawrence Kasdan Award for Best Narrative Film
Sun Dog by Dorian Jespers (Belgium, Russia)

Other Awards

Tom Berman Award for Most Promising Filmmaker
Iwianch, el Diablo Venado by José Cardoso (Spain)

Best Experimental Film
Revolykus by Victor Orozco Ramirez (Germany)

Kodak Cinematic Vision Award
Mt Albban the attrition of time by Ebrahim Mirmalek (Iran)

Best Documentary Film
Instructions for Survival by Yana Ugrekhelidze (Germany)

Gil Omenn Art & Science Award
Mad Mieter by M+M (Marc Weis, Martin de Mattia) (Germany)

Prix DeVarti for Funniest Film (split)
Danni the Champion by Laura Cameron-Lewis (United Kingdom)
Stunting Cunts by Gina Kamentsky (USA)

The Barbara Aronofsky Latham Award for an Emerging Experimental Video Artist
-force- by Jennie MaryTai Liu, Simon Liu (Hong Kong, USA)

The Eileen Maitland Award
Cause of Death by Jyoti Mistry (Austria, South Africa)

George Manupelli Founder’s Spirit Award
Primavera by Adrian Garcia Gomez (USA)

The No Violence Award
Just a Guy by Shoko Hara (Germany)

Barbara Hammer Feminist Film Award
Silver Femme by Nico Reano, Jimena Lucero (USA)

Best Experimental Animation Award
Displacement by Maxime Corbeil-Perron (Canada)

Leon Speakers Award for Best Sound Design
Piz Regolith by Yannick Mosimann (Switzerland)

Martin Contreras and Keith Orr \aut\ FILM Award for Best LGBTQ Film
Breath Control by Carson Parish (USA)

Peter Wilde Award for Most Technically Innovative Film
Valpi by Richard Tuohy, Dianna Barrie (Australia)

Tíos Award for Best International Film
( ( ( ( /*\ ) ) ) ) ) aka echoes of the volcano by Charles Fairbanks, Saúl Kak​ (Mexico)

UMCU Audience Award
First Light by Amy Lee Ketchum, Ellen Boscov (USA)

Best Michigan Filmmaker Award
Dream of Emma and Tony by Natalia Rocafuerte (USA)

Jurors’ Awards

BUTTERFLY BIRTH BED by Virginia Lee Montgomery (USA)
Circular by Páraic Mc Gloughlin (Ireland)
Daily Life of Human by Siavash Naghshbandi (Iran)
Ici by Sylvie Denet (France)
Just a Movement by Vincent Meessen (Belgium, France)
Night Reflection (IV) by Benjamín Ellenberger (Argentina)
One Image, Two Acts by Sanaz Sohrabi (Canada, Germany)
Queen of Dots by Michael Lyons (Japan)
Reminiscences of 15 musicians in Beirut attempting a re-imagination of the Egyptian classic Ya Garat Al Wadi by Charles-André Coderre (Canada, Lebanon)
Self Portrait With Bag by Dianna Barrie (Australia)
Ser Feliz No Vão (Happy In The Gap) by Lucas H. Rossi dos Santos (Brazil)
uchronia, no.1 by Kamila Kuc (United Kingdom)