The 2021 edition of Galway Film Fleadh opened on July 20th and ended on 25th. The festival is Academy Award Qualifying with the prizes James Horgan Award for the Best Animation, Tiernan McBride Award for Best Short Drama, Best Short Documentary. Winners have been announced, we are only listing the short awards.

Short Awards

Best International Short Documentary
MAMA by Pablo de la Chica (Spain)

Best International Animated Short
Homebird by Ewa Smyk (United Kingdom)

Best International Fiction Short
Leylak by Scott Aharoni, Dennis Latos (USA)

Best Debut Fiction Short
Bump by Rory Keenan (United Kingdom)

Best Debut Animation Short
BARDO by Aisling Conroy (Ireland)

The Donal Gilligan Award for Best Cinematography in an Irish Short Film
Faitíos (The First Fear) by Martha Fitzgerald (Ireland)

Academy Award Qualifying Awards

The Tiernan McBride Award for Best Fiction Short
Saul & I by Jon Beer (United Kingdom)

Best Short Documentary Award
Nothing to Declare by Garret Daly (Ireland, USA)

James Horgan Award for the Best Animation
Memento Mori by Paul O’Flanagan (Ireland)