The 2022 edition of Ann Arbort Film Festival was March 22nd to 27th. This year was the 60th anniversary of AAFF, winners were announced and we invite you to visit their website to know about all details and prizes, we are only listing shorts awarded!


Ken Burns for Best of the Festival
Lacerate by Janis Rafa

Tom Berman Award for Most Promising Filmmaker
Theorie und Praxis by Leonie Minor

Best Experimental Film
Cosmos-war-finally-love by Luciano Zubillaga

Kodak Cinematic Vision Award
A Brief Appearance of Neon by Matthias Sahli & Immanuel Esser

Chris Frayne Award for Best Animated Film
The Fourth Wall by Mahboobeh Kalaee

Gil Omenn Art & Science Award
Moving or Being Moved by Sabine Gruffat

Prix DeVarti for Funniest Film
Benztown by Gottfried Mentor

The Barbara Aronofsky Latham Award for an Emerging Experimental Video Artist
Precautionary Measure by Lizzy Deacon, Ika Schwander

George Manupelli Founder’s Spirit Award
Amazon Woman by Anna Vasof

CameraMall Best Michigan Filmmaker Award
Miracle Whip by Jerod Willis

Lawther/Graff No Violence Award
kopitoto by Lisa Kusanagi, JuJu Kusanagi, Yvonne Meier

Barbara Hammer Feminist Film Award
Irani Bag by Maryam Tafakory

Best Experimental Animation Award
A Comprehensive Theory by Rui Hu

Leon Speakers Award for Best Sound Design
Salidas by Michael Fetter Nathansky

Martin Contreras and Keith Orr \aut\ FILM Award for Best LGBTQ Film
Tank Fairy by Erich Rettstadt

Peter Wilde Award for Most Technically Innovative Film
Money is the One True God by Lachlan Turczan

The No. 1 African Film Award
She Gather Me by Miatta Kawinzi

Award for Best International Film
Contraindre by Galdric Fleury, Antoine Fontaine

UMCU Audience Award
The Silver Reel by Josh Gibson

Best Music Video Awards
John L by Nina McNeely
Desolvido by Andrés Roa Ariza

Gina Kamentsky Juror Award
3 Wetlands by Jane Cheadle

Mariam Ghani Juror Award
Birdsaver Report Volume 2 by Heehyun Choi

Thomas Renoldner Juror Award
After the Dance by Shunsaku Hayashi