The 2022 edition of Hollyshorts Film Festival started on August 11th and ended on 20th. It was the 18th edition of the festival, which is Academy Award Qualifying with the prizes Best Short Film Grand Prize, Best Short Animation, Best Short Live Action.

Winners were announced! Visit the page on Hollyshorts for all winners, we are only listing shorts.

Academy Award Qualifying Prizes

Grand Prix
Hallelujah by Victor Gabriel

Best Live Action
Mulaqat / Sandstorm by Seemab Gul

Best Animation
Scale by Joseph Pierce

Other Awards

Best Cinematography
Censor of Dreams by Leo Berne, Raphael Rodriguez

Best Comedy
All I Ever Wanted by Erin Lau

Best Director
Carlos Segundo for Sideral

Best Documentary
Mink! by Ben Proudfoot

Best Drama
Like the Ones I Used to Know by Annie St-Pierre

Best Editing
The Machine by Isaac Bell

Best Thriller
Wild Bitch by Rebekka Johnson, Kate Nash

Best VFX
Black Dragon (Rồng đen) by Alexander Thompson

Best Student Film
Hallelujah by Victor Gabriel

Woman in Film Award
Apart, Together by Olivia Hang Zhou

Best International
The Voice Actress by Anna J. Takayama

North Star by P.J. Palmer

Best Midnight Madness
Homesick by Will Seefried

Best Music Video
Consensual by Jeff Hilliard, Joey Danger

Best Producer
Duran Jones for Hallelujah by Victor Gabriel

Best Sci-Fi
Waltz of the Angels by Branden Barton

Best Horror
Moshari by Nuhash Humayun

Latinx Award
Huella by Gabriela Ortega

SAG Indie Award
My Jerome by Adjani Salmon

Shot on Film Award
North Pole by Marija Apcevska

Shot on Film Award Mention
Not the 80s by Marleen Valien

Social Impact Award
Stranger at the Gate by Joshua Seftel

Best Action
Kickstart my Heart by Kelsey Bollig

Best Costume Design
Sauerdogs by Guillermo de Oliveria