The 2022 edition of Ottawa International Animation Festival started on September 21st and ended on 25th. OIAF is Academy Award Qualifying with the prize Best Independent Short.

Find all the awards on OIAF’s website as we are only listing shorts!

Grand Prize for Short Animation

Grand Prize for Short Animation
Bird in the Peninsula by Atsushi Wada (France, Japan)

Wacom Public Prize

Sierra by Sander Joon (Estonia)

First runner up
The Flying Sailor by Amanda Forbis, Wendy Tilby (Canada)

Second runner up
Koerkorter (Dog Apartment) by Priit Tender (Estonia)

Canadian Film Institute (CFI) Award for Best Canadian Animation

The Flying Sailor by Amanda Forbis, Wendy Tilby (Canada)

Special mention
Animal Collective ‘We Go Back’ by Winston Hacking, Michael Enzbrunner (USA, Canada)

Animated Short Competition – Category Prizes

Best Non-Narrative
飯縄縁日 (Iizuna Fair) by Sumito Sakakibara (Japan)

Best Narrative
Letter to a Pig by Tal Kantor (France, Israel)

Best Commissioned
The Humane Society International ‘Save Ralph’ by Spencer Susser (United Kingdom, USA)

Bento Box Award for Best Student Animation
Les larmes de la Seine (The Seine’s Tears) by Alice Letailleur, Eliott Benard, Etienne Moulin, Hadrien Pinot, Lisa Vicente, Nicolas Mayeur, Philippine Singer, Yanis Belaid (France)

Animation for Young Audiences 3+ Competition
My Name is Fear by Eliza Płocieniak-Alvarez (Germany)
Special Mention: Toddler Talks by Diana Reichenbach (USA)

Animation for Young Audiences 7+ Competition
Luce et le Rocher (Luce and the Rock) by Britt Raes (France, Belgium, Netherlands)
Special mention: Lost Brain by Favez Isabelle (Switzerland)

Animated Short Competition – Craft Awards

Best Script
Drone by Sean Buckelew (USA)

Best Design
backflip by Nikita Diakur (Germany)

Best Technique
Hotel Kalura by sophie koko gate (United Kingdom)

Best Sound Design
Zoon by Jonatan Schwenk (Germany)